COTA SA's Board consists of a number of dedicated people from a diverse range of backgrounds who bring with them a wealth of knowledge and experience.

Current Board members are:

Anne Burgess

Anne Burgess AM - Deputy President

Anne was appointed to the Board in November 2013 and is Chair of the SA Policy Council. She brings to the Board extensive experience from her career as a senior public sector bureaucrat in SA which culminated in her two year term as Acting Commissioner for Equal Opportunity from June 2010 to July 2012. She has a strong background in equal opportunity, planning, strategy and problem solving from her years at senior levels within the areas of health, mental health and the equal opportunity arena. Anne also has experience in the not for profit sector, including as a member of the Board of Aged Rights Advocacy Service (ARAS) and the National Aged Care Alliance.

Anne holds a number of other positions including member of the Chiropractic Board of Australia and Assistant Commissioner Public Sector Grievance Review Commission.

Anne Edwards

Anne Edwards AO - President

Anne was appointed to the COTA Board in January 2008 following her retirement as Vice Chancellor of Flinders University. Anne was elected President of COTA in July 2012. Her research interests cover the fields of public policy, power and social control, women and gender, youth and ageing.

Anne has held a number of key appointments in the course of her professional career, including Deputy Chair of The Australian Centre for Social Innovation, Deputy Chair of the Victorian Casino and Gaming Authority, Deputy Chair of the Australian Research Council, consultant to the Brotherhood of St Laurence, and Professor of Sociology at Monash and Flinders Universities

Anne is currently Chair of Australia's National Research Organisation for Women's Safety (previously the National Centre of Excellence to reduce violence against women and their children).

Barry ApseyBarry Apsey

Barry has an extensive record as a senior administrator and chief executive in the fields of justice and correctional services, emergency services, occupational health and safety, and corporate services reform. In recent years he has consulted on capacity building and strategic planning in the Pacific. Barry's positions have included managing correctional systems in Victoria and South Australia and as Director General of the Corrective Services Commission in Queensland, Chief Executive of Emergency Services in South Australia, and Commissioner of the Solomon Islands Correctional Service.

Barry is a member of the COTA SA Policy Council and was appointed a director in 2017.

Creagh O'ConnorCreagh O’Connor AM, KSJ, FAIM, FAICD

Creagh has approximately 40 years' experience as a chief executive and board member for a number of public and private companies. He has been involved in managing a number of Australian and international oil, gas and mineral projects and is Chairman of Broken Hill Prospecting Ltd.

Creagh is an experienced board member; his most public role was with Cricket Australia as Director for 11 years and Chairman from 2005 to 2008. In addition he was Director of South Australian Cricket Association (SACA), Director of the International Cricket Council, Director of the Kerry Packer Cricket Foundation, Director of Rundle Capital Ltd, Governor of the Bradman memorial fund, Chairman of the Lords Taveners, Trustee of the Les Favell Foundation and Chairman of ACHA Health Ltd.

He is Chairman of A G O'Connor Pty Ltd and chairman of the Maurice de Rohan International Scholarship Fund. Creagh is founding director of Adelaide Oval SMA Ltd and Chairman of Clipper Ships City of Adelaide Ltd.

helena kyriazopoulosHelena Kyriazopoulos

Helena Kyriazopoulos has over 30 years' experience within the ageing, health and multicultural sectors. She has a Degree in Business, Industrial Law and worked for Alzheimer's Australia SA for over 22 years as the Access and Equity Unit Coordinator and the Secretariat for Alzheimer's Australia - National Cross Cultural Dementia Network. Within these roles she challenged the way in which Alzheimer's Australia delivered its services to culturally and linguistically diverse communities. Helena has also undertaken social research in the areas of CALD carer and ageing needs.

Helena is currently the CEO of the Multicultural Communities Council of South Australia and was recently appointed to the Federal Government, Australian Multicultural Council and sits on a diverse range of Boards including COTA, ARAS, SA Water, Health Consumers Alliance and Welcome to Australia.

John Lipkiewicz

John Lipkiewicz

John joined the Board in November 2019. He is an accomplished and respected Executive/Director whose background is in the financial services and banking sector. John has extensive experience in leading change; building strategic partnerships, mergers & acquisitions, and developing strategy in complex work environments.

He brings to the Board financial acumen and multiple skills in governance, risk, stakeholder relationships and regulatory compliance. John is also a Non-Executive Director of Dnister Credit Cooperative based in Melbourne. He has a BA, an MBA and is a  member of the Institute of Company Directors.

Julie ObstJulie Obst

Julie joined the COTA Board in 2013. She is a lawyer and company director who has broad experience in business, strategic planning and finance. Julie is an experienced board member of private companies and government entities as well as an active investor in successful organisational transformations for a number of businesses. She is currently on the Board of the SA Forestry Corporation and a member of the SA Remuneration Tribunal. Previously she has been a member of various private and public Boards including the State Supply Board (SA), North Western Adelaide Health Service Board and the Women's Advisory Council.

Julie brings to the Board a wealth of commercial business acumen, extensive experience as a board member and a strong legal focus.